Aguiar-Curry reelected amid 41 percent voter turnout

The Winters Voting Assistance Center offered a curbside voting options for those observing social distancing. (Crystal Apilado/Winters Express)

Support Local Journalism


Yolo County saw a 41.7 percent voter turnout for the June primary election, below that seen in the 2018 and 2020 primaries, but still higher than the statewide average.

Of the county’s 119,631 registered voters, 49,884 voted in June.

During the 2018 primary, just over 43 percent of voters turned out, and in 2020, over 55 percent.

“Yolo County overall voter turnout continues to trend higher than the statewide average,” said Jesse Salinas, the count’s assessor/clerk-recorder/registrar of voters.

“Yolo County voter turnout was upwards of 6 percent higher in the 2018 statewide primary, over 8 percent higher in the 2020 presidential primary and thus far reaching over 8.5 percent higher in the most recent 2022 statewide direct primary compared to statewide voter turnout,” Salinas said.

With the canvas completed, the final results for local races include:

Yolo County Supervisor, District 2
Lucas Frerichs:  5,150 votes (62.22 percent)
Juliette Beck: 3,127 votes (37.78 percent)

Yolo County District Attorney
Jeff Reisig: 27,419 votes (59.28 percent)
Cynthia Rodriguez: 18,832 votes (40.72 percent)

Yolo County Sheriff/Coroner/Public Administrator
Thomas Hayes: 13,020 votes (29.79 percent)
Tom Lopez: 30,685 votes (70.21 percent)

In uncontested races, Yolo County voters also re-elected Salinas; Yolo County Superintendent of Schools Garth Lewis; and Yolo County Supervisor Gary Sandy of Woodland.

County voters also favored incumbent Assemblywoman Cecilia Aguiar-Curry, D-Winters, who received 70.53 percent of the vote in her race.

As a result of redistricting, Rep. John Garamendi, D-Walnut Grove, no longer represents portions of the county.  But Yolo County voters solidly backed Rep. Mike Thompson, D-Napa, in the fourth district, where he received 66.86 percent of county votes.

In statewide races, Yolo County voters largely went with incumbent Democrats, including Gov. Gavin Newsom, who received 62.39 percent of local votes; Lt. Gov. Eleni Kounalakis, who received 63.97 percent; Secretary of State Shirley Weber, who received 67.48 percent; Treasurer Fiona Ma, who received 66.54 percent; Attorney General Rob Bonta, who received 60.18 percent; and Insurance Commissioner Ricardo Lara, who received 45.98 percent.

Incumbent state Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Thurmond received 54.05 percent of Yolo County votes.

Yolo County voters also favored U.S. Sen. Alex Padilla by a significant margin, with 62.68 percent voting for Padilla over other candidates in a large field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Previous Article

Obituary: Frances “Kimi” Kato

Next Article

Obituary: Viola Venegas

Related Posts